The Downside(s) of Loneliness

So if you’re like me, you probably have maybe, maybe one extracurricular activity ( where you don’t connect to anyone, at all).

enhanced-14366-1403362460-17

You can count all of your friends on two hands or less.

Close friends are just a monumental joke.

You live out in the middle of nowhere, not quite the boonies but as good as.

All of my disadvantages aside, my point is that no matter where you are, or how many friends you have, or how much you ‘put yourself out there’; you are still capable of feeling loneliness.

There’s something in each of us as human beings that aches for meaningful connections with the people around us, be it your mailman or your significant other.

I’m not saying that we want these discussions all the time, or even on a weekly basis, but we should be able to talk to who we want about what we want without it feeling awkward or feeling ashamed.

With the rise of social media, it’s become easier to make ‘connections’ with anyone, anywhere, anytime; but the majority of these connections are spider webs compared to say, the connections you have with your family (titanium cords).

The main thing is this:

Will I get a deep, meaningful heart to heart with one of my ‘bestie’ anytime soon (Read, the next month)?

And the answer is:

No, I’m not.

Am I ok with that?

Not really.

Will I survive.

Yes.

So tell me, when was the last time you had a heart to heart with anyone?

Ta!

-AC

Leave a Reply

